Once the notification becomes persistent, users will lose access to their chat list on the app. Essentially this means you’ll lose most of the app’s functionality. You will only be able to accept voice and video calls, call back, and reply to messages from the notifications. This means you won’t be able to start conversations or make calls.
While WhatsApp makes it clear that it won’t delete your account if you don’t accept the policy, the usual inactivity policy applies. This means that after 120 days of inactivity on your WhatsApp account, your account will be deleted.
However, given that WhatsApp can read your messages with businesses, many users are worried that the platform might snoop on private messages. There is no evidence to show that WhatsApp is doing this, but given Facebook’s shady past regarding user privacy, the concerns are understandable.
Expect More People to Leave WhatsApp Seeking Alternatives
Looking for a messaging app that doesn’t share data with Facebook? Here are some WhatsApp alternatives to check out…
About The Author